Social Media

Privacy Setting

Who can look me up?

Under the tab ‘Who can look you up using the phone number or the e-mail address you provided’ select either ‘Friends’ or ‘Friends of Friends’.

Who can contact me?

Under the tab ‘Who can send you friend request’ you can decide whether everyone can send the account friend request or only friends of friends. If you want to make your account as safe as possible, set this option on ‘only friends of friends’.

Limit old posts

Take a look at ‘Limit the audience for posts you’ve shared with friends of friends or public’. This goes into the fact that some of your earlier post may have been shared with a wide audience. For now, it is important to ensure that they are currently only accessible for Friends. You can ensure this by clicking on ‘Limit Past Post’ and then clicking ‘Confirm’ in the dialog box that will appear.

Who can see my stuff?

It is important to look at ‘Who can see your future post’. Make sure that this setting is always set on ‘Friends’ and not on ‘Public’.

Timeline & Tagging

Friends could tag you with photo or video and they will appear on your timeline. You can review the content before allowing it to appear on your timeline. You can also limit the audience who could view the things that you have been tagged in. If you don’t like the post that you were tagged in, you can remove them.

 

Security Setting

Login Alert

Login alerts are an extra security feature in Facebook, if you turn on login alerts, Facebook will send you a notification if someone tries logging into your account from a new place or device. To turn on login alerts:

  • Go to yourSecurity Settings
  • Click theLogin Alerts section
  • Choose the type of alert (ex: by msm) you'd like to receive and clickSave Changes

*You can save a device or browser to your list of trusted browsers or recognized devices. This way, you won't get alerts about the computer or phone you usually use to log into Facebook. Don't choose this option if you're using a public computer.

*If you ever receive a login alert from an unfamiliar browser or location, follow the instructions in the notification to reset your password and secure your account.

rovals.

Login Approvals

Login approvals are a security feature similar to login alerts, but with an extra security step. If you turn on login approvals, you'll be asked to enter a special security code each time you try to access your Facebook account from a new computer, phone or browser.

To turn on login approvals:

  • Go to yourSecurity Settings
  • Click theLogin Approvals section
  • Check the box and clickSave Changes

After you turn on login approvals:

* If you haven't saved the device (ex: computer) or browser you're using, you'll be asked to do so when you turn on login approvals. This way you won't have to enter a code when you log in from any of your recognized devices or browsers. Don't click ‘Save this browser’ if you're using a public computer (ex: a library computer).

Note: You need to have a mobile phone number listed on your account to turn on login approvals. You can add one to your account when you turn on login approvals.

 

Live-Streaming Safety tips

Before live-streaming you should read tips below & think twice of its potential


Things you need to know before live-streaming

 

  • Your profile, photos & activities you performed could be seen or recorded by anyone included bad guys, you cannot control them anymore
  • Live-streaming yourself in your room, same like performing in a public place where lots of people are watching you around
  • Bad guys could insult you, comment with bad words or use your vulnerability for criminal purposes
  • You could be the subject of sexual grooming

Camera 1219748 1920

Privacy Settings & Teen Safety of YouTube

Set up privacy of your account & read the teen safety tips before producing or sharing videos:


Privacy Setting

Manage video privacy

When you upload a video, by default it’s set as a "Public" video, which means that anybody can view it. You can manage the privacy settings and control who has access to view this content.

  • Private videos

A private video can only be seen by you and the users you select. The video won't appear on your channel or search results, and will be invisible to other users. You can manage the users you want to share a private video with.

  • Unlisted videos

Making a video unlisted means that anyone who has the link to the video can view it. Unlisted videos don't show to viewers in the Videos tab of your channel page. Unlisted videos don't show up in YouTube's search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist. Unlike private videos, the people you share the video with do not need a Google account to see the video. Anyone with the link can also re-share it in a number of ways, such as simply forwarding the link. If you don't want to allow others to re-share your video, make it private.

Restricted Mode

Restricted Mode is an opt-in setting available on the computer and mobile site that helps screen out potentially objectionable content that you may prefer not to see or don't want others in your family to stumble across while enjoying YouTube. Find the “Restrict Mode” in your device YouTube and enable it, then lock it (lock Restricted Mode).

Teen Safety

Untitled 6 1

  • Know what type of content to film:When filming videos of your friends, classmates, or other minors, remember that they should never be sexually suggestive, violent, or dangerous.
  • Remember “The Grandma Rule”:Is what you’re filming or posting something you’d want your grandmother, boss, future employer, parents, or future in-laws to see? If not, it’s probably not a great idea to post it. Once a video has been posted online, you never know who might see it. If it’s copied or reposted, you might not be able to remove every copy.
  • Prevent dangerous or uncomfortable situations:Don’t post something just because someone else asked you to. Also, please don’t try to meet anyone you have "met" online without consulting with a trusted adult first.
  • Use YouTube’s privacy features:YouTube has features to help you limit who can see the videos you post. Protect your privacy by setting personal videos to 'private' or 'unlisted.

Privacy Settings & filtering of Line

Set up privacy of your account as high as possible to secure yourself




Privacy Setting

Passcode Lock

Passcode Lock is an important feature in in Line, it could protect you from an unauthorized access. Make sure that you turn it on for your own safety and the 4 digit code must be secured.

Allow others to add by ID

Creating a Line ID is crucial, you may want to make it easier for your LINE friends to find you.  If you so choose, you can assign a LINE ID to your LINE account, and allow your friends to find you through your LINE ID.  Alternatively, you may choose not to allow other LINE users to contact you using your LINE ID.  Please note that, your LINE ID is not visible to other LINE users, and it may be a pseudonym.

Filter Messages

If you choose to turn this on, messages from outsiders will be rejected. It means that only your friends could contact you.

Receive Friend Requests

If you turn on the Filter Messages, you will not be able to receive Friend Requests, but if you turn off the Receive Friend Requests you will have the alternative whether or not to receive Friend Requests.

also brings undesirable  people to you. You should add only people you know in person.

Allow Others to Add

Those who have your phone number can add you as a friend automatically.

Note: Auto adding friends make things easy but sometimes it also brings unwanted friends or bad guys. 

Block a person

Simply go to friends icon and then swipe the contact that you want to block to the left and click "block"

Privacy & Call Settings of Skype

Set up privacy & call settings as high as possible to secure your account & to avoid unwanted contact


Privacy Setting

In computer mode, you can set the privacy setting broader than in other devices. There are some important settings that you need to consider:

  • Allow calls from: in this setting user, should only choose “people in my contact list only” to avoid unwanted calls from strangers or intruders.
  • Automatically receive video and share screen with: in this setting user, should use “people in my contact list only” or no one to avoid unwanted video call.
  • Allow IMs from: The IMs stands for Instant Messages, in this, user should choose “people from my contact lists only” to avoid unwanted IMs from stranger or intruders.

Call Setting

Allow calls from

To avoid unwanted calls from stranger you should set “Allow Calls From”:

  • Untick the “Anyone”
  • Tick the “people in my contact list only”

Allow calls from

Make sure that you untick the box of “Answer incoming calls automatically” otherwise your Skype will answer any call-in automatically.